College of Law

 

About the College of Law


The College of Law of then Holy Name College was established in 1948. Since then, it has produced lawyers, prosecutors, Municipal Trial Court and Regional Trial Court judges.

The College of Law has started in 1948 with Atty. Anastacio A. Mumar as the first dean of the college. Later when Holy Name College was renamed Divine Word College, Atty. Elpidio V. Biliran served as dean.  He was succeeded by Atty. Sulpicio A. Tinampay. Also serving as dean in was Atty. Paulino G. Clarin.  Currently, the College of Law is under the deanship of  Atty. Tomas D. Abapo, Jr. who has served Holy Name University. The College of Law was able to produce  a bar topnotcher in 1968 in the person of the late Atty. Oscar D. Glovasa.

Vision, Mission and Goals


Vision


A college where legal education is  served by competent and outstanding lawyers and law graduates committed to the promotion of justice, equality and fairness in the spirit of the Divine Word.

Mission

We commit ourselves to the:
  • legal education deeply immersed in Catholic principles and moral values;
  • Promotion awareness of and involvement in social, political, economic and environmental responsibilities, in the service of fellowmen in all levels of the community.

Goals

We aim to:

  • To impart and imbibe concepts of law on the basis of Catholic philosophy;
  • To provide intensive studies on the different aspects of law and the latest jurisprudence on provisions of law  by the Supreme Court of the Philippines;
  • To provide and promote legal research;
  • To render legal outreach and assistance to communities, together with the Christian ministry, and thus, inculcate spiritual and value formation;
  • To conduct forums, participate in legal activities to initiate public reforms and other policy changes that will be beneficial to poor and marginalized communities.

Academic Program


Juris Doctor (Non-Thesis Programme)

Dean

trabajo-daray.jpg
Retired Judge Marivic A. Trabajo-Daray
Dean
col.dean@hnu.edu.ph

Faculty Members

PART-TIME FACULTY

Prof. Atty. Tomas D. Abapo, Jr.
Masters of Laws
tabapojr@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Judge Lindecita C. Arcamo
larcamo@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Cristifil D. Baluma, CPA
Master of Laws
cbaluma@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Carlo Brian S. Carandang
cbcarandang@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Prosecutor Adolfo M. Doroy
Master in Business Education
adoroy@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Mark Louie C. Huraño
Master in English
mhurano@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Maria Asuncion A. Jalad
majala@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Judge Marlo M. Malagar
Masters of Laws
mmalagar@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Judge Olivia M. Mende
omende@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Maria Cielito B. Segovia
mcsegovia@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Irol A. Torres, SVD
broderrol@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Cheryl Ann S. Villares
MAED major in Mathematics
cvillares@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. John Titus J. Vistal
Master of Regional Development
jtvistal@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Lawrence Louie G. Uy
lluy@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Warren B. Yap, Jr., CPA
wyapjr@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Soccoro Anne R. Zaluaga
MAED major in English Language Teaching
DA in Literature Communication
sarevilla@hnu.edu.ph