Integrated Basic Education Department

 

About the Integrated Basic Education Department


The Integrated Basic Education Department of Holy Name University consists of three departments, namely; Grade School (Pre-elementary and Grades 1-6 levels), Junior High School (Grades 6-10) and Senior High School (Grades 11-12).  Among these departments, the high school unit was established first at the time when Holy Name College (now Holy Name University) was inaugurated on July 14, 1947.  The department pioneered with 613 students.  After a year, the formal recognition for a four- year high school was granted.  The SVD Administration working closely with the Diocese of Tagbilaran then felt the need to offer elementary education to the Boholano community.

On July 1, 1950, Holy Name College opened its Grade School Department in order to provide the Boholanos with the Holynamian brand of education in their formative years.  After a decade, the administration moved the ever-expanding department to a newly purchased house and lot in Knights of Columbus Drive in Gallares Street. In 1963, the department transferred to the Arias Building (now known as Balay Kabilin) in front of Tagbilaran City Community Hospital along M. Parras Street. Seeing the patronage of the Boholanos to then Divine Word College of Tagbilaran, the pre - elementary unit was opened in 1995.  Eventually, the growing population of the department prompted the SVD Fathers to relocate the teachers and students.  After more than 30 years in Arias Building, the Grade School Department was transferred to the more spacious Bates Building in Janssen Heights, Dampas District. In 2000, the department moved to the building especially dedicated for the youngest members of the HNU family.

After the SVDs gained full ownership of the school in the 1960s, the High School Department shared with the SVD mission. They opened evening classes to accommodate students who support themselves by working during the regular class hours.  Such program also allows them to avail of quality education at a lesser cost.  When the enrolment soared in the early 1980s, the administration decided to relocate the department to the new High School building.  It was the first structure erected at the sprawling 7.2 hectare SVD property in Janssen Heights, Dampas.  Conscious of its vital role in the academe, the department applied for PAASCU Accreditation in 1993. It was granted Level I and  II clean accreditation, respectively. To respond to the educational reforms brought about by the K-12 Curriculum, the High School Department is now called the Junior High School unit offering Grades 7 to 10.

The third group under the Basic Education Department is the Senior High School.  It came to existence to conform with R.A. No. 10533, also known as the Enhanced Basic Education Act of 2013.  The department, though new, is strengthened by experienced teachers of the different colleges of the University.  The Senior High School Department offers three academic tracks, namely; Accountancy, Business and Management (ABM), Humanities and Social Sciences (HUMS) and Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) for Grades 11 and 12.

Vision, Mission and Goals


Vision

Cradle of fundamental knowledge and value formation, upholding excellence in the formation of young servant-leaders.


Mission

We commit ourselves to the:

  • formation of spiritual/moral values and the constant witnessing to the Divine Word;
  • active participation in community building;
  • promotion of love of country and the appreciation of cultural heritage; and
  • provision of opportunities to help promote and protect the integrity of creation.

Goals

We aim to:

  • inculcate in our pupils the spiritual and moral values in accordance with Christian principles;
  • provide relevant and meaningful learning experiences that will enable them to   qualitatively   increase their knowledge and develop their skills;
  • involve pupils in various exposures and activities which will increase their awareness and responsiveness to the changes and demands of society, and;
  • provide varied activities geared towards the building of Christian communities.

Principal, Vice Principal and Coordinators

 

legitimas.jpg
Dr. Prisciano Legitimas, LPT
Doctor of Management
Principal
principal@hnu.edu.ph
 
alturas.jpg
Mrs. Sheila B. Alturas, RN, MA
Vice Principal
(Senior High School)
Master of Arts in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
seniorhigh@hnu.edu.ph
agbayani.jpg
Dr. Cenon Agbayani, Jr.
Araling Panlipunan (Social Studies) Coordinator
cagbayani@hnu.edu.ph
dopeno.jpg
Dr. Maria Liesle A. Dopeño
Languages Area Coordinator
Doctor in Instructional System & Resource Management
mldopeno@hnu.edu.ph
fuentes.jpg
Mr. Jessie A. Fuentes, JD
MATH Coordinator
jfuentes@hnu.edu.ph
ocon.jpg
Mr. Rufino G. Ocon, MRE
Christian Living Coordinator
rocon@hnu.edu.ph
pajo_temp.jpg
Mrs. Clarita C. Pajo, MSed
Science Coordinator
cpajo@hnu.edu.ph
roy.jpg
Dr. Jean J. Roy
MAPEH Coordinator
PhD in Educational Management
jroy@hnu.edu.ph
tampos.jpg
Mrs. Maria Fe Evelyn L. Tampos, RN
SAP Coordinator
mfetampos@hnu.edu.ph
photo_filler.jpg

Grade School Faculty Members

PERMANENT FACULTY

Dr. Prisciano S. Legitimas
DM major in Educational Management
principal@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Sheila B. Alturas, RN
MA in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
salturas@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Cenon R. Agbayani, Jr.
cagbayani@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Maria Liesle A. Dopeño
mldopeno@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Jessie A. Fuentes, JD
Master in Science Education
jfuentes@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Rufino G. Ocon
MA in Theology major in Religious Education
rocon@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Clarita C. Pajo, MSed
cpajo@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Jean J. Roy
jroy@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Maria Fe Evelyn L. Tampos, RN
MA in Education in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
mfetampos@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Mr. Rey C. Acaso
racaso@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Christine Abigail A. Aya-ay
candoy@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Jissell D. Barrete
MA in Education in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
jbarrete@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Charlie G. Batingal
charliebatingal@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Grace Ann L. Budiongan
jvbudiongan@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. John Vincent O. Budiongan
jvbudiongan@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Jessel S. Iyog
jsalazar@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Victoria P. Jaum
MA in Education in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
vjaum@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Jeziel B. Jumigop
jjumigop@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Jenefer P. Lebios
jlebios@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Jackelyn B. Logpit
jlogpit@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Niña Samantha C. Pajo
nspajo@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Geraldine D. Tañeza
gtaneza@hnu.edu.ph

PROBATIONARY FACULTY

Ms. Mia B. Geonzon
mgeonzon@hnu.edu.ph

Senior High School Faculty Members

FULL-TIME FACULTY

Mr. Christian Angelo S. Alcala

calcala@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Ma. Odeza Bornea
mobornea@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Maria Carmen S. Decierdo
Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Management
Doctor of Education in English Language Teaching
mcdecierdo@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Giselle Marie S. Fabuna
gmfabuna@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Jesus G. Gam, Jr.
jgam@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Epifania L. Jabines, MBA
ejabines@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Jose Allan L. Janiola
jajaniola@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Cherry A. Maniwang
MA in Education major in English
MA in Curriculum, Design, Development and Supervision
cmaniwang@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Analie B. Manliguez, RN
MA in Education major in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
amanliguez@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Ruby Ann Marie Ocular
ramocular@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Ma. Thesageen P. Sarabia
MA in Public Administration (full fledged)
mtsarabia@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Ace P. Uy
MA in Education major in Mathematics
auy@hnu.edu.ph

PROBATIONARY FACULTY

Mrs. Glenda T. Cabatic, RN
gcabatic@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Gladys B. Dahab
gdahab@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Ariel E. Lapore
alapore@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Jessa Mae A. Linsag
jmlinsag@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Juan P. Mascariñas
jmascarinas@hnu.edu.ph

PART-TIME FACULTY

Mrs. Letecia D. Cagatin, CPA
lcagatin@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. GN V. Lebumfacil
gnlebumfacil@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Christina Liu
MA in Chinese Literature
xliu@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Marigold O. Viñalon
mvinalon@hnu.edu.ph

Junior High School Faculty Members

PERMANENT FACULTY

Mrs. Adelwisa B. Adaptar
aadaptar@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Bernadita C. Agbayani
bagbayani@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Maria Gemma P. Auman
mgauman@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Felicidad A. Auxtero
MA in Education major in Administration and Supervision
fauxtero@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Restituto B. Balabat, JD
Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Management
rbalabat@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Temistocles A. Bongcac
MA in Education major in English
tbongcac@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Marianne G. Bueno
mbueno@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Cirila L. Capili
ccapili@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Esteban L. Carosus
ecarosus@hnu.edu.ph

Arlene Emily A. Cuaresma
MA in Educational Management
aecuaresma@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Lolita L. Dangoy
Doctor of Philosophy major in Teaching Elementary Subjects
ldangoy@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Noemi A. Digal
MA in Education in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
ndigal@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Noreen B. Escabarte
nescabarte@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Jacquelyn M. Flores
jflores@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Carlota I. Glovasa
cglovasa@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Emelinda F. Llido
ellido@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Fritziel P. Orcullo
forcullo@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Judelyn P. Patayon
jpatayon@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Reinelda C. Rafiñan
rrafinan@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Joseph Rey P. Rances
jrances@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Wilfredo A. Rulida
wrulida@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Vanessa Joy M. Sarigumba
vjsarigumba@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Ma. Claribel S. Sumampong
MA in Education in Teaching Elementary School Subjects
mcsumampong@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Celso V. Tabaranza
MA in Teaching Mathematics
ctabaranza@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Jeremy B. Vega
jvega@hnu.edu.ph

FACULTY

Mrs. Joyceme A. Rasonabe

jalcala@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Marnny L. Ednalig
mednalig@hnu.edu.ph

FULL-TIME SUBSTITUTE

Mrs. Shiela Mae O. Cubio
scubio@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. John Dave J. Seloveres
jseloveres@hnu.edu.ph

  • Occupational Stress Levels and Licensure Status of Online ESL Teachers 
    (Published)
    Andoy, Christine Abigail A.
    International Journal of Advanced Education and Research ISSN: 2455-5746;
    Impact Factor: RJIF 5.34 Received: 02-11-2019; Accepted: 03-12-2019 www.alleducationjournal.com Volume 5; Issue 1; January 2019; Page No. 08-12
  • Schema-Based Instruction in Mathematics Problem Solving
    (Unpublished, Presented)
    Cagas, Winica J.
  • Proficient-Novice Learning Partnership in the Teaching of Mathematics 
    (Unpublished, Presented)
    Tabaranza, Celso V.

Student Organizations

School clubbing is part of the departmental program in developing the holistic approach of the pupils in Holy Name University. It aims to boost interest of the pupils and provide them with activities to cater to their multiple intelligences. 

A. Grade School

  1. Special Organizations. These organizations are recommended by the Department of Education and the SVD Community.  These include Boy Scouts of the Philippines, Girl Scouts of the Philippines, Knights of the Altar, Penmasters, Broadcasting and Supreme Pupil Government.  Collectively, they train pupils to develop effective leadership and useful citizenship.

  2. Academic organizations. These groups are designed to serve as a venue for pupils to exhibit and develop God-given talents in their specific area of academic interest.  These organizations include Booklovers, Math Wizards and Young Scientists.

  3. Kinesthetic Organizations. These clubs focus more on activities that will enhance students’ mental and motor coordination. The Body Movers, Ballers/Sports (volleyball, basketball, soccer, badminton), Board Masters and Tang-Soo-Do are organizations which aim for such.

  4. Knacks. This is a collective term for the organizations which pay attention to the pupils’ creative expressions.  These organizations may focus on dancing, singing, visual art making, acting, art and craft photo shooting, and cooking.  There are groups called Artisans, Homemakers, Glee, Speech and Dramatics, Visual Arts, Young Photographers and  Young Puppeteers.
  5. Religious Organizations. These organizations lead pupils to become evangelizers of God’s word by preaching through their deeds, getting involved in prayers, religious activities, and devotional works of mercy. These include Children of Mary Immaculate and Youth for Christ.

 B. Junior High School

  1. Special Organizations. These are groups which fulfill key responsibilities in the full operation of the secondary education.  These organizations are mandated by the Department of Education. Boy Scouts of the Philippines, Girl Scouts of the Philippines, Heights Gazette (the official publication of the department) and Supreme Student Government are in this category.

  2. Academic Organizations. These are groups inspired by the content courses offered in secondary education.  They organize activities which enhance the knowledge and skills learned in their respective classrooms.  These include Young Historians Club, Samahan ng mga Batang Broadcasters, Mathematics Club, Young Instrumentalists’ Club, Kapisanan ng mga Public Speakers, Filipino Club, Young Scientists’ Club, Young Entrepreneurs Club, Writers’ Guild and Click Club.

  3. Kinesthetic Organizations. These organizations are intended for students who love sports and are athletes themselves.  They organize trainings that will develop their skills to perform best in their chosen sport.  Clubs dedicated for players of chess, badminton, basketball, badminton, and volleyball belong to this category.

  4. Artistic Organizations.  These groups hone students’ creative expressions in various forms.  Dramatics Club, Glee Club, Dance Club, Young Photographers, Robotics, Homemakers’ Club organize activities which develop acting, singing, dancing, photography, creating robotic pieces and cooking skills respectively.

  5. Religious Organizations. These organizations lead pupils to become evangelizers of God’s word by preaching through their deeds, getting involved in prayers, religious activities, and devotional works of mercy.  These include Mission Club, Columbian Squires, Knights of the Altar, Youth for Christ and Children of Mary Immaculate.

 C. Senior High School

  1. Special Organizations. These organizations are recommended either by the Department of Education or the SVD Community. Radio Broadcasting Organization, Red Cross Youth (RCY), Kapisanan ng mga Broadcasters ng HNU, Supreme Student Council, Knights of the Altar, Girl Scouts of the Philippines and Boy Scouts of the Philippines belong to this group.  Two other organizations are in this special category: The Scriptum, the official Senior High School student publication, and The Alliance of Young Speakers and Writers of Bohol, a product of the University’s partnership with Department of Information and Communication Technology.

  2. Academic Organizations. The student groups in this category initiate activities that reinforce the knowledge and skills they learned in the classroom. Co-curricular in nature, they engage their members to activities that develop their writing skills, speaking skills, mathematical abilities or potential.  The organizations under this category include Writer’s Guild, Campus Journalists’ Club, Science Club, Math Club, Environment Club, Young Entrepreneurs Club, Young Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants (Young JPIAns), Young Advocates Club and Peer Facilitators’ Club.

  3. Religious and the Arts. These organizations include those which develop the students’ sense of evangelization as well as their creative expressions.  Mission Club, Instrumentalists/Music Ensemble, Glee Club, Ministry Arts and Crafts and Dramatics Club belong to this category.

 

Student Organizations Student Membership
   
a.Special Organizations  
Supreme Pupil Government  
KOA (Knights of the Altar)  
Patrol Leaders Council  
Ravine (School Paper Contributors)  
   
b. Academic  
Booklovers  
Math Wizards  
Young Scientists  
   
c. Kinesthetic  
Body Movers  
Ballers / Sports (volleyball, basketball, soccer, badminton)  
Board Masters  
Tang-Soo-Do  
   
d. Knacks  
Artisans  
Home Makers  
Glee  
Speech and Dramatics  
Visual Arts  
Young Photographers  
   
Young Puppeteers  
   
Religious  
COMI (Children of Mary Immaculate)
Image

Grade 6 pupils with Teacher Noemi did their annual mangrove planting in Maribojoc on September 2019.

Image
Dr. Prisciano S. Legitimas, Principal of the Basic Education Department, together with his faculty and staff gave slippers and school supplies to pupils in Cabilao, Loon on October 2019.
Image

Mrs. Sheila Alturas, Coordinator of the Science Area, did her share in helping our mother earth in the annual outreach in Maribojoc.