[ Student Login | Faculty Login | AV Halls Online | Library Search | Contact Us ]



Holynamian Scribes Shine in CSDPC

Holy Name University-Basic Education Dept. is in a triumphant mood once again as it beams with pride, and hoists another remarkable achievement earned by the Holynamian young student-writers during the annual Tagbilaran City Schools Division Press Conference conducted at Dr. Cecilio Putong National High School on October 11-12, 2016.

The two-day journalistic competition kicked off right after the opening ceremony.

With English and Filipino as the contest media, the participants battled it out in Newswriting, Copyreading and Headline Writing, Sports Writing, Editorial Writing, Editorial Cartooning, Feature Writing, Photojournalism and Script Writing and Radio Broadcasting.

Holy Name University’s delegates were composed of the grade school, junior high school and senior high school aspiring journalists whose trailblazing performance became instrumental in putting dear old Holy Name in the victory map. And the winners are as follows:

Grade School

  • Eden Eve Lacea - 3rd Place - Sports Writing (Filipino)
  • Niña Olive Avelino - 3rd Place - Photojournalism (Filipino)
  • Keren Christel Calope - 4th Place - News Writing (English)
  • Keren Christel Calope -4th Place - Feature Writing (Filipino)
  • France Mariel Gablines - 5th Place - Editorial Cartoon (Filipino)
  • Jane Dominique Pacot - 5th Place - News Writing (Filipino)

High School

  • Barbara Acebedo - 1st Place - Broadcasting
  • Dafodelle Alaba
  • Philipp Bongato
  • Elijah Cagulada - Best in Technical Application
  • Phrea Mirazolle Enoc
  • Patricia Espiritu
  • Joelle Priscilla Estrera
  • Peter Wald Saguirel - Best Achor

The team was also hailed as Best in Informercial

  • Irah Coreen Caderao - 1st Place - Photojournalism (English)
  • Jasmine Fleur Joaquin - 1st Place - Photojournalism (Filipino)
  • Rico Jose Awayan - 2nd Place - Sports Writing (Filipino)
  • Mary Jasmine Vailoces - 2nd Place - Science and Technology Writing (English)
  • Lord Sam Liston - 3rd Place - Copyreading and Headline Writing (English)
  • Lady May Micabalo - 3rd Place - Editorial Writing (Filipino)
  • Princess Mae Salisid - 4th Place - News Writing
  • Zuleika Marie Madanguit - 5th Place - Feature Writing (English)

The winners were under the tulelage of Miss Christine Abigail Andoy, Mr. Temistocles Bongcac, Mr. Ace Uy and Mrs. Marigold Viñalon and they will be among Tagbilaran’s representatives in the upcoming Regional Schools Press Conference in Carcar, Cebu City in December 2016. The group’s achievement could not also have been made possible without the all-out support of Dr. Prisciano S. Legitimas, the school principal, Dr. Ma. Liesle A. Dopeño, language coordinator and the whole HNU administration.

Copyright © 2015. All rights reserved.
Janssen Heights, Dampas District, Tagbilaran City, Bohol, Philippines 6300
Information: +63 (38) (Globelines) 501 7731 . 501 0125 . (Cruztelco) 235 3934
Telefax: +63 38 501 7731
Privacy Policy . Terms and Conditions . Contact Us

Last updated: (GMT+0800) January 10, 2019. This site is best viewed using Mozilla Firefox